Sunday, March 23, 2014

Asian LGBT Activists Call for Protection

LGBT rights activists attending the conference of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in Yangon, Myanmar, from 21 to 23 March 2014. 

ASEAN brings together ten member-states to promote and protect the rights of its LGBT people. The ten member-states are: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The ASEAN demands that laws that directly or indirectly criminalize LGBT people be immediately repealed. It also calls for all individual national level human rights groups to include the promotion and protection of the equal rights of all people as well as to ensure equal access to health and social services regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

Remember that four of member-states (Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia and Myanmar) criminalize gay sex, and none of the ten member-states recognize same-sex unions or marriage.

There is still a lot of work to do.

Asian LGBT activists from ASEAN

1 comment:

  1. Evey one not just a few but evey one should have equal rightes. Human race has just a belived that this is how it should be. I call it Brained washed to thank one way. And not have facks.Scientific facks.